HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE

by techtiptom

Originally posted on wibc.com on 08/05/2012

I recently had the opportunity to “play” with a HTC Droid Incredible 4G LTE, from Verizon…  I thought, “OK, another Droid; another huge smartphone.”  Not this one!

A nice, small, but very powerful handset… It has all the bells and whistles of the big boys, without the size and weight. Of course, there are a few trade-offs…

Get too many apps running, and it starts to sloooow dooowwnnn a bit….  But here’s the positives, IMHO:  rubberized back, won’t slip outta my hand.  And the camera is lightening fast, beautiful natural colors, and you really don’t need flash in low-light..

Things that frustrated me a bit:  It took forever to turn on!  I thought maybe I didn’t hold down the power button long enough..  And why did they make them flush with the case? Also, plugging in the power/USB cable is hard…  Never have to worry about the cable falling out though…  Battery  lasts about a day, unless you are watching videos or streaming music; then less than a day…. And it gets hot when you stream video or music!

I did enjoy this handset. Mobile hotspot, 4.0.3 Ice Cream Sandwich O/S,  great call quality, fast data speeds; on and off my WiFi…  Although I did get tired of it popping up whenever I went to a new WiFi area…  How do I turn off that??

I wish I had a rating system; like so many thumbs up or so many stars…. But I don’t.  My recommendation is, if you want true Droid functionality and true Droid performance; I would go with either the HTC One or the Samsung Galaxy S III….  But if smaller, lighter, and a bit slower are OK; the price isn’t bad on this quality handset…

