iPad 2 review

by techtiptom

Originally posted to wibc.com on 05/21/2012

iPad 2 review

 For the past week I have had the pleasure of testing an iPad 2.  Now, my wife has had an iPad 2 for at least 6 months; and she has allowed me to “play around” with it some.

But this one has the Verizon 4G network, versus hers being on our home WiFi alone…  You would think that she would get the better data throughput; but from appearances; the tablet was smoking fast!

I tried all the games (free ones first!) and found that this tablet is easy to hold, easy to use.  And so it didn’t feel like just another hand-held game console; I connected VPN to my employer’s network… I downloaded and used RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) to access my office PC…  I was sitting out back on the deck, watching the grandkids; and looking at trouble tickets at work…

I used my cable providers free app to access my DVR and schedule recordings; and it was a lot of fun to change the television channels at my home from my friend’s house 60 miles away!

OK, some specs:  Apple A5 dual-core 1GHz processor, 16Gb, a long-lasting battery.

Had a lot of fun with both the photo booth, and Facetime with my daughter and son-in-law at Ft Bragg…

Space is limited, or I could go on forever. Bottom line:  I HAVE to get one of these for myself!  Seems a lot faster than my netbook/VPN/RDP set-up too!

