Motorola Droid 4 review

by techtiptom

Originally posted to wibc.com on 03/26/2012

Boy, did I have fun with this phone!  I like having both soft keys and a slider to a real keyboard; but I think what really impressed me was a combination of the phone and the Verizon network.

What I did was to use it as a mobile hotspot while rolling down the highway… Now, I didn’t test it while driving; my wife tested while I drove and vice-versa…  Signal strength and quality comparable to sitting next to my WiFi at home! Rolling through Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, and Georgia; just a few minor hiccups in the mountains…

Four connected devices including an iPad, everything working great.

I used the panoramic setting a lot on the 8MP camera, to capture some beautiful scenery…  Filled up a couple SD cards… Wish I would have had an HDMI cable, as this phone as a port for that…

The tactile keyboard worked quite well for a person with fat fingers…. I really like the backlighting.

Call clarity was great in big cities, fair in rural areas; as should be expected.

Of course, all the Droid apps are available; why do we always gravitate to games??

The screen, 4 inch; has a 960 x 540 resolution, quite sharp; but not as sharp as a RAZR…

Battery was average for a smart phone…

I would recommend this device for folks who must have a keyboard, but I would probably lend more towards Motorola’s RAZR MAXX…..

