Motorola MotoActv

by techtiptom

Originally posted on wibc.com on 06/18/2012

Motorola MotoActv

When my friends over at Kyle Communications heard that I was on a health kick, they thought I should check out the Motorola MotoActv. Motorola says it is “a cutting-edge fitness tracker and smart MP3 player packed into a small, stylish device.

And I must admit, it does live up to the word… “GPS technology tracks your workout data like time, distance, speed, calories burned and heart rate. You can monitor your performance for running, cycling, golf and over 40 other activities”; and the MP3 player stores your favorite songs and actually “learns” what tunes motivate you the most.

I tried it with both the wired earbuds, and a bluetooth headset. Bluetooth is the way to go on this one…

Works great, but is really made for athletes who are into serious excercise; not someone like me who is just trying to get back into shape slowly.

And although linking it to a cellphone is nice, it has to be a Motorola phone; not my iPhone…

Some specs:  1.81 inches tall, 1.81 inches wide, and 0.37 inch thick, 1.2 ounces… Start and Music buttons, Volume keys and a power button. A recessed Micro-USB port for charging and connecting to PCs, and a 35mm headphone jack.

The screen is a touch screen that works easy enough. But I didn’t really care for this huge, watch-like device strapped to my wrist. Your mileage may vary…

Runs a version of Android OS, has a pedometer, GPS receiver, WiFi, and Bluetooth (4.0)…

I would recommend using iTunes to transfer music to it, as the MotoCast software (built-in) takes forever… Oh, and be sure to charge it daily… Frustrating when you start a walk and it runs out of juice before you do… Of course, I did let it set in standby mode for a couple days before I used it….

Per the info, it has 40 different excercise methods, including Running, Cycling, Walking, Elliptical, and Step Machine. I only used it for walking, as I am not ready yet to “step it up” to running… And although the music was nice, I really liked the FM tuner for a change…

I didn’t avail myself of MotoActv’s Web services and fitness analytics. I’m sure a real athlete would love tracking details such as speed, time, and distance against body weight, height, and age to calculate calories burned. Recording the specific path you took when outdoors and the music that you played; the device transmits data automatically either over Wi-Fi or through a paired phone’s cellular connection.

I was a little surprised when I when for a brisk walk yesterday… I was trucking along, noticed my shoelace was loose and stopped to retie it… A female voice told me that I needed to keep moving!  I ended up only going 1.6 miles, but I averaged 3.1 mph and burnt 266 calories… MotoActv said I took 3,552 steps…  Guess I need to speed up and go farther….

I shouldn’t have tried to compare this device to the app on my iPhone that tracks my daily walks. The Motorola MotoActv serves so many purposes. It’s a portable music device, Android-powered watch, and total fitness tracker. Recommended by Bob Harper (personal trainer, The Biggest Loser)…

I compared my Yugo to a Cadillac….

