Droid Bionic… and HD Station!!!

by techtiptom

Originally posted to wibc.com on 10/03/2011

I have had the recent opportunity to test the Motorola Droid Bionic from Verizon…

First let me say that it seems to be the lightest Droid yet.. A 4.3 inch HD display, 960 x 540 pixel resolution; very sharp. The 8 megapixel camera is nice, and although I personally don’t like to video chat, there is a VGA front camera…

Oh, let the Verizon folks install your microSD card when they install the SIM. Getting the battery cover off is hard!  I thought I was going to break it!

This “phone” has a 1Ghz dual-core processor, plus with a Gb of RAM and the 4G… Wow! I played with some of the preloaded apps, like Blockbuster, GoToMeeting, Quickoffice, Slacker, and ZumoCast.

I really like ZumoCast!  Your phone can access any file on your computer from anywhere in the world. I, like many people; assume preinstalled apps are bloatware… Not ZumoCast!

Battery life is about average. Remember to turn off features when they’re not being used: 4G, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, GPS, and other non-essentials. That alone will extend your battery life a good deal.

And I also got to play around with the HD Station for the Bionic… More in my price range ($99) than the Lapdock ($299); the HD Station gives you 3 standard USB ports; so you can plug in a mouse, keyboard, or flash drive. That coupled with a microHDMI cable to my HD television gave me a 50 inch Webtop.  I installed Firefox and was at home!

I used one those rubber roll-up USB keyboards and a USB optical mouse,; and took it to my brother’s house…. I think he might switch carriers to get this “phone”!

