Review of the Droid RAZR

by techtiptom

Originally posted to wibc.com on 12/12/2011

Droid RAZR

Let me start my review of this device by saying, Wow! I am very impressed!  I am a former RAZR owner, as well as the CRAZR (smaller RAZR), and the Pebble (turtle shell phone with RAZR functions and features)…

The Super Active-Matrix Organic Light-Emitting Diode (Super AMOLED) touchscreen is fantastic!  With the coated glass I expected it to be hard to operate; but I was wrong!

This handset has a 8MP camera that can record 1080p video… That is sweet! And of course, a front camera as well. I have never been much on video chat; as I prefer to put the phone against my ear, not share my convo with everyone around me…

The one I tested had the Kindle app, Netflix, Citrix GoToMeeting, Let’s Golf, and Madden NFL 12…  I didn’t test the Netflix, and I must admit that sports games aren’t high on my list; but I am a uber-nerd. The GoToMeeting was quite nice, and easy to operate..

And the data rate is fast…

This phone is an upgraded Droid Bionic, in that they both have the Texas Instruments OMAP 4430 processor; 1 Gb RAM, Motorola LTE baseband processor, etc…. But the RAZR processor is 1.2Gz, not 1Gz like the Bionic.. And the Bionic you can replace the battery. The RAZR, like the iPhone, you cannot.

However, the phone is big; abet thin…  I did have some problems handling it, and forget seeing the screen in direct sunlight. And where is the @ key? Had much trouble trying to send an e-mail; until I figured out how to use that…

I have been excited to see this phone since the commercials started with the RAZR slicing through things…  Check it out and share your thoughts with me!  TechTipTom@WIBC.com

