Samsung Galaxy TAB 10.1 vs. Apple iPad 2

by techtiptom

Originally posted to wibc.com on 01/02/2012

I recently had the opportunity to compare the Samsung Galaxy TAB 10.1 (Verizon) to my wife’s iPad 2…

At the risk of sounding like C-Net’s review, it is lighter, and as thin as the iPad 2…  Wider (half an inch!); but more than a half-inch shorter!

It is a sharp looking, sharp feeling tablet.. And fast!  I saw no real speed difference between Verizon’s 4G connection and a local WiFi; which really says something for Verizon…. I am not a Verizon customer, and I haven’t even received a coffee mug or t-shirt from them!

The Tegra 2 processor runs a fast 1Ghz, and is dual core; like the ARM Cortex-A5 CPU in the iPad 2.

I looked for an SD port, or a USB for a thumb drive; none.  But connecting it through the universal connection port (bottom edge, center); I was able to drop a couple thousand songs on it (MP3, although you can use AAC, WMA, and others), as well as a few hundred pics…. The speakers (left and right edges, near the top) have fairly decent sound. From Mannheim Steamroller to Motley Crue to Green Day; this is a nice jukebox..

Cameras, which seem to be in everything these days, are OK..  3MP, 720p back camera, 2MP front…

Being a Unix/Linux person by trade, I really like that the Honeycomb O/S is Linux…

I started this tablet playing music, just to see how long it would run before the battery went dead. Impressive 4 plus days!  Wish I had put more music on it, too many repeats!

I played with the Google Maps while riding, turn-by-turn was nice..  Tons of apps for this thing too…  I used the Polaris Office to edit some MS Word docs as well…

My experience, Droid phone users love this Tab….  iPhone folks go for the iPad…  But with thousands of apps being written for both; it really just comes down to personal preference….

