Verizon Mobile Hotspot

by techtiptom

Originally posted on wibc.com on 07/18/2011

One of the neat things about being “Tech Tip Tom”, is I get to check out new (or fairly new) gadgets. Recently I got to check out the Samsung SCH-LC11, the hotspot which fully supports the Verizon Wireless 4G LTE and 3G networks….

The hotspot supports up to 5 devices simultaneously and works similar to your home router. The LED lights on the top of the device tell you connection strength and which network you are connected to.

And it has a hefty battery at 1500 mAh . Samsung says battery life at 216 minutes of usage time and 9 hours of standby time.  About the size of a deck of cards, but half as thick; I put it in my shirt pocket…
Battery did last a long time, but I found that in the car I needed to plug it in after about 2 hours.

And the 4g network gave me almost 12 mbps downstream and 4 mbps upstream. That is quite fast; considering I was using a netbook while riding in a car!

And I could use my VPN (virtual private network) and RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) to connect to my office PC. I was virtually sitting at my desk while riding in a friend’s car.

Now, when I went North of Indy, it dropped into the 3G network and things slowed down some; but not much. And as I got close to West Lafayette, the 4G kicked right back in…

I used my netbook, had a friend with an iPhone, and his son with a Nintendo DSi; all on the hotspot without any appreciable lag. I would recommend this device without reservation.  And with a 2 year contract, Amazon has them for $20.00!

