Samsung Droid Charge

by techtiptom

Originally posted to wibc.com on 06/01/2011

I recently had the opportunity to check out the Samsung Droid Charge, a smartphone; on the Verizon 4G network. I had to create a G-Mail account, as I didn’t want to link to Exchange (that goes to my iPhone).

Importing my contacts into G-Mail and then the Charge was a breeze! I sent both single and broadcast messages quickly and efficiently..  Using the browser was fast on 3G, but when I was at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS)  I had 4G… very fast!

I used a feature to receive text updates from IMS: safety messages, scheduled events, etc. I also received weather updates, and used the WIBC Android app to stay on-top of things and listen live to the race. Awesome!

The Charge is a half-inch longer and quarter inch wider than my iPhone; and has four tactile buttons instead of one.  That took a little getting used to, but all menus and icons seemed intuitive..

There is a micro-USB port and the volume buttons on the left side, an audio jack on the top , and the power button on the right. I found it a little frustrating at first, to have to press the power button and then slide my finger across the screen to unlock the phone.

The screen is much brighter and more vivid than the iPhone, probably due to the over-saturation of the colors. Very easy to see, even outdoors.

The Google Maps and FaceBook apps are very fast. I added the ThinkFree Office app, and was able to open Word, Excel, and PowerPoint files…

The Droid Charge takes good photos, even at a party, or at a diner. The result is photos that have much less noise. I did have a few problems with the auto-focus. It didn’t seem to know where to focus. A tap on the screen to show it where I wanted the camera to focus helped.

The battery life, like its predecessors; does not seem to last very long. I made it about 17 hours, where my iPhone can last as long as 2 days before recharge.  However, if you disable 4G; the battery lasts a lot longer.

Today’s smartphone are all about the apps, games, etcetera.  I loaded Bonsai Blast, Blast Monkeys, etc….  All fun, all eat up battery life..

To conclude, the Droid Charge is a fast handset for data, is sleek in design; but still suffers the battery issue..  Keep a charger on your desk, at home, and in the car; you will enjoy this phone…

