Veteran’s Day ceremony and luncheon

by techtiptom

Originally posted on WIBC.com on 11/12/2009:

Yesterday I had the honor of attending the Veteran’s Day Appreciation Program and Luncheon held at Lebanon High School. I must say that it was a wonderful experience.

We were greeted at the door by students, pinning Red, White and Blue ribbons on us, and nametags. They really made us feel at home from the start.

The program opened with the Pledge of Allegiance and the National Anthem. Then we heard a beautiful rendition of “Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor”.

Our keynote speaker was Lt Col Alex Murphy, an Army Judge Advocate General (JAG), or military attorney. His words touched my heart; and bridged the age gap between the students and Veteran’s. And then the quiet reverence felt during the playing of Taps…..

Many students came up and personally thanked us for our service; one young lady with tears in her eyes.

And the meal! These chefs are High School students? The quality of the Manicotti was comparable to Buca Di Beppo; the presentation was excellent.

I have sent a “thank you” to the students, the staff, and the principal. But I just had to share with you my gratitude to Lebanon High School for making Veteran’s Day 2009 a wonderful day for me and my fellow Vets.

Semper Fidelis,
Tom Bates
Former Staff Sergeant
United States Marine Corps

