HTC Windows 8X

by techtiptom

HTC_Windows8X

I recently had the opportunity to check out HTC’s new Windows 8X phone…

I must say that I was quite impressed! This is a four and half ounce computer!

And for HTC to return to Windows phones, after the success they have had with Android-based phones was a surprise. Probably due to Samsung’s Android offerings, I would think…

Anyway, this handset has a polycarbonate shell; not really needing any kind of case to protect it. I will say that I didn’t much care for the buttons on the side (right side only, left side is free)…  I found them hard to find by touch, and hard to press…

The Snapdragon dual core processor runs at 1.5Ghz, and comes with 1Gb of RAM.

Very sharp display, and the sound quality (at 2.5V) was strong enough for full-sized headphones…

The camera was OK, in that it has 8 megapixels, the same as the iPhone 5; but it doesn’t have the panorama feature that HTC puts in the Android One X….  It does have a “Bing” lens that can scan barcodes and QR codes, as well as book, CD and DVD numbers and then call up information on the items.

The live tiles, versus static icons; took some getting used to.  I tended to move things around and then they weren’t where I expected them to be…

I must admit that I did not sync to my company e-mail, but I am sure it would have to be seam-less; given that they are both Microsoft products…

It felt good in my hand, and after I got accustomed to the tiles; I really enjoyed this phone. Will I get one when my iPhone contract is up; probably not….  I have an iPad 3 that works so well with my iPhone that I wouldn’t want to lose that functionality.

