Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 review

by techtiptom

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1

First the specs:  10.1 inch WXGA (1280 x 800) Screen, 1.4 Ghz processor, Quad Core.  Front camera 1.9 Megapixel, rear camera 5 megapixel. Has 4G network, WiFi, and Bluetooth. Weighs about a pound or so, about average for tablets.. 16 Gb storage, 2 Gb RAM…

I did a side-by-side comparison with this tablet and my iPad 3…  Other than knowing the differences between Android and IOS, these tablets are very similar….   The Galaxy Note 10.1 is slightly lighter and easier to handle than an iPad without a case..

A big plus is the microSD slot for up to an additional 32GB of storage; not something that Apple has ever offered….

The real difference is the S Pen… Using Wacom technology, this is so much more than a simple stylus… If you like to draw, this pen can understand hard or soft pressure to the screen….

Cameras are average, Skype conferences worked well….

Speakers gave great sound; I was surprised…

Really needs a USB port, as WiFi file transfers take a long time…

Since I had already tested the Samsung Galaxy Note phone, I had high expectations for the Note 10.1 tablet. This device is all I had hoped and more, and I consider myself very hard to impress.

So, folks who want to use a stylus with their tablet for real work or play, this is a great tool.  If you don’t need a stylus, the iPad, or a Google Nexus might fill the bill.