Samsung ATIV S

by techtiptom

ativ

Specifications

OS = Windows Phone 8

Display = 4.8” HD Super AMOLED (Active-Matrix Organic Light-Emitting Diode)

Processor = 1.5 GHz dual-core processor

Memory = 16/32GB User memory + 1GB RAM,  microSD (SDXC support)

Battery = Standard battery, Li-ion 2,300mAh

Video = Codec: H.263, H.264, WMV, MP4, M4V, MOV; Full HD(1080p) Playback & Recording

Camera = Main(Rear): 8 Megapixel Auto Focus Camera with LED Flash; Sub(Front): 1.9 Megapixel VT Camera Has Bluetooth, USB, Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n (2.4 & 5 GHz),  Wi-Fi Direct, Wi-Fi Channel Bonding

OK, my thoughts on this device:  For a business phone, I felt this was a great fix.  Yes, a “smart” phone, with all the apps you need; especially Pocket Office. Word, Excel, etc. Using a microSD card I opened a Word document with ease. I wouldn’t want to draft or do much editing on the phone; but being able to read a doc is handy. The microSD slot is rated up to 32GB – added to the built-in 16GB mass memory, this is plenty of memory.

But it also has the X-Box app, for the gamer community… Or so I thought! I enjoyed checking out X-Box Music, X-Box Video, and reluctantly X-Box Games. I am not really a gamer.

Call quality on the Samsung ATIV S has very good loudness but somewhat mediocre clarity…  Very sharp display; this handset is a close clone of the Galaxy S III…

And watching videos was nice…  I used SkyDrive to  copy in a few videos; very easy. And I took MetroTube for a ride (from the Windows Phone Store) which worked very well. I also tested Outlook.com e-mail; which integrated with my office e-mail perfectly; including my calendar. Drove a few co-works bonkers when the ATIV S, my iPhone 5, and my iPad 3 all reminded me of meetings and such all at the same time!

Overall, I enjoyed this handset; although I found myself comparing it to the Galaxy and the HTC Windows Phone 8X.

